Life Through the Looking Glass

Holidays/Celebrations

“The one good thing about this world…there are always sure to be more springs.” -L.M. Montgomery

After a cold winter, it is lovely to see everything slowly coming back to life as the weather becomes warmer. I don’t mind the cold so much because I have a fluffy winter coat, but there is nothing quite like springtime.

friendinthesun

I have a comfortable window seat that I use to make my observations of the outdoors. I find it very interesting to watch what goes on outside. This spot near the window just might be the best spot in the house.

This particular day was so nice. I looked up at the trees with their white blossoms and watched with amazement as the petals blew by in the wind. A flurry of white dots, it looked as if it were snowing outside.

Such a perfect day. I enjoyed feeling the warmth of the sun as its afternoon rays beamed down from the sky and onto my fur. There is nothing like basking in the sun on a spring day.

friendinthesun6

Here is a small glimpse of what I saw.

I was told this tree is a fruitless pear tree.

I will share a secret with you, trees are magical beings.

friendinthesun4

Friendinthesun3

As I sat in the window, my siblings joined me. While sometimes we have sparred over territory (or treats), this day we all sat together happily and watched the world from our lookout. My sister Keiko was mesmerized by the petals blowing in wind. Benji, who is normally a hyper Bengal, seemed to be meditating while staring at the sky. We must have stayed there for hours, although it seemed like minutes. As we all shared the spirit of springtime happiness, I decided to get down from my perch so my sister could have my spot. She wanted to have a better view of the sunset.

Friendinthesun2

They stayed there as the sun slowly lowered in the sky.

friendinthesun5

I am so happy springtime is here; more lazy days in the sun, more flowers, more happiness. Until next time…

With Love, Friend

9 thoughts on “Life Through the Looking Glass

  1. Hi, Friend! What a wonderful description… I felt like I was there! You’re very lucky to have such a wonderful window seat. And how generous of you to share your spot!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Carol, thank you so much! I wish you could be here, I think we would get along so well. I am envious of the cats in your neighborhood (or as Steve’s gang would call it- your “hood”). I wish I could visit, it looks so lovely in the pictures. You and your family members have so many interesting adventures. 🙂 If you ever want to visit, I would be happy to share my window seat with you. By the way, did Ethel get her water bowl back? I hope you and your family have a lovely weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think we would make excellent friends as well. Think of all the observations we could make from your window seat!! Ethel did not get her bowl back, yet. Just the other day I overheard Little Mom talking about using the bowl to hold chips and salsa when we have company. Boy will that make Ethel mad!! I hope you and your family have a lovely weekend as well!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. in Tampa my cat would sit on the couch and look outside her TAIL wagging and wagging patiently. One day the door was left open and she almost caught the bird that caught her eye.. funniest thing I ever saw… I couldn’t believe how fast she is…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope to see some hummingbirds this year. I do enjoy watching the squirrels though. Sometimes they chirp at each other as if they are having a disagreement of some sort. It is so funny to watch. I wonder what they are fighting about? On a different note, I am really enjoying your blog. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Takami! You are so kind. Glad you enjoyed the post. I have been really enjoying your photography also. What is your favorite thing about springtime in Japan (if you don’t mind me asking)? Best wishes to you! 🐱

      Like

      1. Hello Friend ^^
        Thanks a lot for your reply! I’m so happy you could enjoy some of my photos. To answer your question, my favourite part about Spring in Japan…I like how the days are getting warmer and the sunlight lasts longer too! 🙂 Of course, the cherry blossoms are lovely, and I like how everything seems to come to life after the long winter.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment